Monday, August 18, 2014

Blog Tour: Amity by Micol Ostow - Guest Post and Giveaway

I've had my eye on Micol Ostow's YA horror novel, Amity, for quite a while. Publication day is almost here! I want a book that scares me beyond words and I think Amity just might be the book to do it. I'm pleased to be a part of this tour, hosting Micol and offering a copy of Amity to one lucky reader.

by Micol Ostow
Published by EgmontUSA
Publication Date: August 26, 2014
368 Pages

About Amity

For fans of Stephen King and American Horror Story, a gruesome thriller suggested by the events of the Amityville Horror.

Connor's family moves to Amity to escape shady business deals. Ten years later, Gwen's family moves to Amity for a fresh start after she's recovered from a psychotic break.

But something is not right about this secluded house. Connor's nights are plagued with gore-filled dreams of demons and destruction. Dreams he kind of likes. Gwen has lurid visions of corpses that aren't there and bleeding blisters that disappear in the blink of an eye. She knows Amity is evil and she must get her family out, but who would ever believe her?

Amity isn't just a house. She is a living force, bent on manipulating her inhabitants to her twisted will. She will use Connor and Gwen to bring about a bloody end as she's done before. As she'll do again.

Alternating between parallel narratives, Amity is a tense and terrifying tale suggested by true-crime events that will satisfy even the most demanding horror fan.

For my stop on the blog tour, I've asked Micol to share some books that made her fall in love with reading and writing.

Welcome Micol!!

Good question! Happy to share a few of my favorites.

Eloise, Kay Thompson (illustrated by Hilary Knight)

Eloise lives at the Plaza hotel, and she is interested in people when they are not boring. I think we all can relate! Eloise is one of my favorite read-alouds. It taught me all about voice, character, language, and the interplay between words and text. There’s a reason she’s a classic.

A Little Princess, Frances Hodgson Burnett

When it comes to Hodgson Burnett, I find people to be pretty divided between Princess and The Secret Garden when it comes to choosing favorites. I always came down on the side of Little Princess because, as we see from Eloise, I have a soft spot for charming young girls with absentee parents and lots to share with the right reader. My mother read this one aloud to me long after I was old enough to be reading it myself.

Tiger Eyes, Judy Blume

Judy Blume was the first author I encountered who didn’t talk down to teens and wrote about issues we were actually concerned with, in a non-moralistic way (death! sex! adolescent friendships!). She felt very fresh and modern to my pre-teen eyes. From there I moved on to others in the same vein, like Paul Zindel and Paula Danziger, but Tiger Eyes was the beginning of it all for me.

The Handmaid’s Tale, Margaret Atwood

Everything Atwood writes is whip-smart, incisive, and even humorous in its darkest moments, but Handmaid’s Tale was the first of her novels that I encountered. It was as subversive as Catch-22 or Lord of the Flies but unique to me in that it dealt with gender issues and feminism, which, as a high school student I was just beginning to be interested in. It’s more accessible than some of her later work, but it’s indelible, and it packs a punch. Atwood 101. 

Giveaway Details

Prize: One copy of Amity by Micol Ostow
(provided by EgmontUSA)

Must be 13 years or Older to enter
U.S./Canada addresses only
To enter, fill out Rafflecopter below

Giveaway ends August 28, 2014
If I cannot verify your entries, those entries will  not count.

Tomorrow's Tour Stop
 August 19, 2014

Check THIS LIST for all tour stops 

 Micol Ostow is half Puerto Rican, half Jewish, half editor, half writer, half chocolate, half peanut butter. When she is under deadline, she is often half asleep. She believes that the whole is greater than the sum of the parts except in the case of Chubby Hubby ice cream. Micol is the author (or ghostwriter) of over 40 books for teens, including Egmont USA’s family and So Punk Rock (and Other Ways to Disappoint Your Mother). Amity is her first horror novel. She received her MFA in Writing for Children and Young Adults from the Vermont College of Fine Arts and lives in New York City, where she practices liberal consumption of coffee, cheese, and chocolate.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for stopping by my blog and taking the time to comment!


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Imagination Designs